The painfully slow process of getting SN help

17 Sep

Not posted a blog for a long time.
 Don’t know who will read it as I think one needs to post regularly to get followers.
 I’ve moved since I last posted a blog. That took most of my time.

 I need to come back & have a place to let out all my feelings about my son & his special needs.

 He is autistic & has global developmental delay.
 He is 4 & has just started full time school.
 His extra needs 1st came to light when a health visitor did his 3 year check in May 2012.
 He was referred to speech therapy. He has had 3 speech therapy appointments since then.
 When he started nursery, I saw he was not like his peers. I spoke to the Senco at his nursery in February this year. We agreed that he needed a referral to a paediatrician to discuss my worries.
 I saw a consultant in April this year.
 He saw Olly for about an hour & a half. Then we were to have more appointments. Another one in 6 months with him. So that should be October this year. It is in December.
 Olly also needs a Multi Disciplinary Assessment. Olly will go in front of a panel of people who will say for certain that he is autistic. This appointment is very important. He is currently 36th on the list for an appointment & apparently he may be seen by Christmas. Except they only do 1 appointment a week where I am. So him being seen by Christmas is overly optimistic. 

Today I have started the process to get a statement of needs for Olly so he gets extra help at school. He is “ok” in reception class but he will really need the extra help by year 1. We need to start the process now, in order that his extra help will be available by the time he starts year 1.

I am grateful for all the help that is available. But getting the help is utterly exhausting.

 Thanks for reading & any feedback regarding what I’ve written or blogging would be lovely.

2 Responses to “The painfully slow process of getting SN help”

  1. The Person Next to You September 17, 2013 at 6:44 pm #

    I don’t know a family that loves a person with Autism that doesn’t have a BIG amount of things to deal with.

    I will tell you this… blogging about it will be good. Last week I spent an evening looking back and was amazed at how much has changed in the last couple years in our family. Maybe this post will help you: http://thepersonnexttoyou.wordpress.com/2013/09/10/taking-stock/

    Reach out if you need to talk. :-)

  2. thoughtsfromoutsidemybrain September 17, 2013 at 6:51 pm #

    Thank you The Person Next To You x

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 846 other followers

